top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCristina Bu

My Furlough Journey

Updated: Jul 2, 2020




6 weeks ago I was asked to take furlough and I thought that was it. I will sit at home and go nuts because there is nothing to do. I for one am not the kind of person who can just sit at home and do nothing... So naturally, I started worrying that I would go mad... I started my 2 days of furlough by deep cleaning the house. Then I wrote a piece on my blog... And now what? Safe to say, the start of furlough was a very uncertain time both due to not knowing what to do, and that I was unsure what this would mean for my job overall.


However, as time went on, I took charge of it, and actually ended up doing some pretty amazing things. Things I know I wouldn't have started if not on furlough due to thinking there is a shortage of time somewhere.

I got to reconnect with old friends, which has been food for the soul. Something as simple as a "hi, how are you?" turned into a few good hours and sometimes days of conversation and good laughs. During these moments you are vividly reminded how much you care about people and why they are still a big part of your life, so thank you, old friends. I am grateful I got the change to catch up with you.

I also had the chance to build a great, meaningful friendship which I did not think was possible anymore. This person has been one of my main partners in crime during furlough and through many of my adventures, and I am grateful to have had the chance to furlough in style together and become such good friends.



Furthermore, being on furlough gave me the chance and time to celebrate mine and Jason's 4 year anniversary to the fullest, and exactly how we love it; doing activities in nature. We went boat riding, nature walking and went to the beach where we played paddleboard, went for some refreshing swims, (there were barely any people there btw.. defo more than 2 m distance was kept) and ended the date by watching US (if you want to know more about this movie, let me know, there's a lot I can say about it). This would have not been possible otherwise, as our anniversary fell on Monday. So, definitely grateful for that day spent together which was perfect and all I could have asked for.



Furlough also showed me the natural rural beauty of the UK. I started going on regular walks around the countryside with my good friend and Jason. Actually, thanks to furlough, myself and my partner in crime have achieved something amazing. We did an incredible walk around Mersea Island where we walked a whopping total of 13 miles, have taken 24,806 steps, for exactly 7.30 hrs. What a victory! The scenery was brilliant, and I genuinely felt like I was part of the LOTR Trilogy (I associate many things with Lord of the Rings-it changed me and I love it always and forever). For more info about this walk, get in touch, I would be more than happy to chat more about it. I even discovered a walking app! Which gives you so many options for beautiful walks around the area and also gives you statistics based on your walk which is brilliant. If you would like to know the app, give me a shout.



During these 6 weeks, I also made a massively positive decision for myself. I started working out regularly. I realised that since having a desk job, I have developed a sedentary lifestyle and as an active person, I felt it affect my mental health. So I asked my power ranger of a friend to help me get on this workout kick everyone is raving about. So for 6 weeks, I have been having some incredible PT sessions delivered by an up and coming PT (watch her space!!). Additionally, I bought myself weights and protein powder! Me! So now when a day goes by and I did not work out I feel fidgety. Who would have thought it!? Definitely very proud of myself as I never really got into weight training before. So thank you furlough, and power ranger.


I also have been playing a lot of Xbox games. I always knew there was a good reason behind why I do not play video games. That is because I have an addictive personality! I completed 3 Tomb Raider Games and have started Skyrim now... I love playing video games and the more complicated they are the better, but then again, also the less I do anything else... Playing games is defo a 24hr job. But it is awesome and playing Tomb Raider has been a fabulous trip down memory lane.


I started furlough and even lockdown being a pretty bad baker. Well...I can safely say I now have my own spin on banana bread and this is not just me tooting my own horn. I have tested the bread on the market and got some pretty positive reviews. So yay! Going from someone who would burn brownies in the oven to someone who can put their own spin on banana bread is good growth I think. Once again, I thank furlough. And the market.



Last but definitely not least, I got to reconnect with and stand up for what is right. I had the privilege and chance to go to peaceful protests and support the Black Lives Matter movement. I learned more about black history, and what black people go through every single day in a systemic oppressive, unjust system which for a long time has not listened to black people. I have been signing all the possible petitions I could find regarding this, I have been watching movies and TV series written and directed by black people, and I have stood and will continue to stand up to those who oppose black people their basic human rights. I got to reconnect with my political and moral beliefs, but more than that, furlough also gave me the chance to act upon them.



Overall, looking back to the things I have done, learnt and accomplished, I know for sure I would have not been able to do more than half of these things without the necessary time furlough has offered me. I am 100% lucky and grateful I am going back to work because I enjoy what I do very much, however, I will definitely continue to do all of these activities even while working. There is time for anything when the will is there.



66 views

Recent Posts

See All

It's Not a Battle for No Man's Land

Good morning, or afternoon, or evening. Today I woke up with the intention to write about some movies (deja vu? no, it has happened again), however, during my morning routine of Instagram scrolling (I

bottom of page