top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCristina Bu

It's Not a Battle for No Man's Land

Good morning, or afternoon, or evening. Today I woke up with the intention to write about some movies (deja vu? no, it has happened again), however, during my morning routine of Instagram scrolling (I really need a new morning routine) I stumbled across a post by a guy who is trying to make it by posting motivational quotes on Instagram. Nothing wrong with it, it is a growing industry, and I have seen many make a great income from it, plus I was actually a follower of this page until...he posts a picture of a doctor, engineer and entrepreneur in bed. The doctor seemed sound asleep (which they should be, they've been working hard, they deserve a bit of rest), the engineer sound asleep, and the entrepreneur already out of bed. This itself was not an issue, the description of the picture was: "You sleep like you are rich, I am up like I am broke". I am sorry, what...!? I was perplexed and still am. How did this guy think this was appropriate content to share, especially during a pandemic when all doctors do is work tirelessly to make sure we are all healthy-not to mention they put themselves at risk for our health? If they are having a lie-in, on the days they might be working a later shift, or not working because they are rotating, well deserved. Please...be my guest, sleep the whole day and I will personally deliver you your morning coffee as well if you like. Safe to say I gave the dude a piece of my mind then unfollowed him.


This also has reminded me of another guy on TikTok who made a video post of his London house, and the message was that he left school at 16 and now he has a house in London. I then clearly stated that people should really stop promoting non-education as being a "thing". I followed this argument up with the example of doctors, lawyers, and so many more, to which the guy replied that in the future doctors will be AI's and that he has seen it... Some people are weird...honestly. Now, this post was shared a few months before the pandemic, thus I truly hope he has not needed the attention of a doctor since. I can imagine his discussion with a doctor or nurse around the fact that in the future, all their hard work will be forgotten as robots will take their place (is it wrong that I am laughing right now?).

I then continue to scroll on Instagram and stumble upon another one of his posts which talks about formal education. Along with saying that education is unnecessary debt (which very much can be in many situations), you get stuck in a 9-5 (personally, I have seen people not being stuck in a 9-5 after Uni, furthermore, some people really just cherish that time they have from 5 o'clock onwards, but nevermind, I was not bothered about that), and seemingly fit within a social standard (whatever that is nowadays- there is more individuality in the present society than there has ever been if you really think about it, but I am not going to go on about this one), he states that those years you spent studying are a waste of time. I mean...really? You are telling me that education is a waste of time? An "entrepreneur" who by definition should be educating himself or herself day and night in order to grow business, and potentially venture out. The same guy who's 5th or 6th post before that was relating to educating yourself.


Nevertheless, of course, I gave him another piece of my mind, which was followed by a comment from one of his mates who is also trying to make it online, stating that education does not mean only formal, within a classroom. Now, this is something I can get down with. Yes, I completely agree, dude. It is not. I believe we are nowadays so lucky to have the opportunity to educate ourselves for free online, or for much less money than is asked from Universities (who are yearly increasing their fees due to scaling up the ladder of "top university"- another day, another post for this one). I also truly agree that this, in turn, offers everyone a fair chance at 1. education, 2. social and financial mobility. It is awesome, and I truly respect everyone who jumps on this ship. I have seen 1st hand so many people change their lives for the better without needing to complete formal or higher education. People who I call friends, who have thought me a great deal, and I have great respect for.


However, I do not believe this should be promoted against those career paths which require in depth-extended education such as scientists, researchers (of any kind-scientific or social), health care providers, lecturers and so many more. Which is why I have chosen the title I have chosen. The World cannot simply run with only entrepreneurs, and it cannot simply run with those on formal education. If there are too many entrepreneurs, no one is making sure we are safe (security) and healthy (doctors)-these are just 2 examples which came to my mind, there are of course many others. Furthermore, if there is only formal education, then there would be less job, thus more competition for jobs, but also more poverty (which is really not what we need).


Therefore, it just seems to me that both entrepreneurs and formally educated people are needed for the world to move forward. It is not a battle for who gets more followers, and who will have more adherents. It is not a popularity contest. The Western World is the equivalent of both of these. So please, do respect each other more, and do not try to conquer one over the other. Everyone is achieving and everyone wins, why not have it like that? That is basically what I replied in a comment to the dude-safe to say, we both came to an agreement, and I am very happy about that.

68 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page